This section contains scenes of violence and other explicit material.

Format: Vinyl 12"
Artist: Roky Erickson
Release date: January 2017
Produced by: Casey Monahan and Speedy Sparks
All songs written by Roky Erickson
Format: CD-Digipak with 8 page lyric sheets and band info, vinyl 12" and download

play loud! re-issues this record for the first time ever!

Upon request those who buy this vinyl record at our archive&store will receive the record as mp3 files once they have completed their purchase.



14.00 €

  • 1 LP + 1 CD

    Tax included - shipping excluded
    26.00 € Add to cart

    • For record stores or resellers who buy more than 10 records we offer special rates.
      Please contact us at

      • 01 I'm Gonna Free Her


      • 02 Starry Eyes (acoustic version)


      • 3 You Don’t Love Me Yet


      • 04 Please Judge


      • 05 Don’t Slander Me


      • 06 We Are Never Talking


      • 07 For You (I’d Do Anything)


      • 08 For You


      • 09 Clear Night for Love


      • 10 Haunt


      • 11 Starry Eyes


    List of musicians performing on “All That May Do My Rhyme”:
    Roky Erickson: Vocals, guitar
    Paul Leary: Guitar
    Charlie Sexton: Guitar
    Lou Ann Barton: Vocals
    John Reed: Guitar
    Speedy Sparks: Guitar
    Ernie Durawa: Drums
    Harry Hess: Guitar, harmonica
    John Hagen: Cello
    Sumner Erickson: Tuba, vocals
    Carey Bowman: Guitar
    All songs written by Roky Erickson
    Produced by Casey Monahan and Speedy Sparks

    Like Syd Barrett, a common point of reference, Roky Erickson rose to cult-hero status as much for his music as for his tragic personal life; in light of his legendary bouts with madness and mythic drug abuse, the influence exerted by his garage-bred psychedelia was often lost in the shuffle. In 1965, he penned his most famous composition, "You're Gonna Miss Me," which he first recorded with a group called the Spades. The song and his high, swooping tenor brought him to the attention of another area band, the psychedelia-influenced 13th Floor Elevators, whose lyricist and jug player Tommy Hall invited Erickson to join; the Elevators soon cut their own version of "You're Gonna Miss Me," and took the single to number 56 on the pop charts in 1966. While on the surface the Elevators rise to fame seemed ordinary, underneath things were anything but. The Elevators became the subject of considerable police harassment, and after Erickson was arrested for the possession of one lone joint in 1969, he pleaded insanity to avoid a prison term. A three-and-a-half year stint in the state's Hospital for the Criminally Insane followed; Erickson was diagnosed as a schizophrenic, and subjected to extensive electroshock therapy, Thorazine, and other psychoactive treatments. Though released from the hospital in 1973, Erickson was never the same person; he returned to performing with a new band, the Aliens, but his songs -- a series of horror film-influenced records including "Red Temple Prayer (Two-Headed Dog)," "Don't Shake Me Lucifer," and "I Walked with a Zombie" -- found little success. He did retain a devoted cult following, however, but his popularity was fully exploited by managers who took advantage of his instability to draw the singer into a series of unfair publishing contracts that resulted in a steady stream of unauthorized releases from which Erickson earned not a cent. In 1982, he signed a legal affidavit declaring that a Martian had taken residence in his body, and gradually disappeared from music as the decade wore on. By the '90s, Erickson was struggling to survive on a $200 monthly Social Security stipend; after an arrest on mail theft charges (later dropped), he was re-institutionalized. In 1990, however, artists like R.E.M., ZZ Top, John Wesley Harding, and the Jesus and Mary Chain recorded his songs for the album Where the Pyramid Meets the Eye: A Tribute to Roky Erickson, which brought his work to a wider audience than ever before. In 1993, Erickson performed publicly for the first time in many years at the Austin Music Awards; a few months later, he returned to the studio with guitarists Charlie Sexton and the Butthole Surfers’ Paul Leary to record a number of new songs. (All Music Guide)
    This record was released on CD, MC and vinyl in 1994 on Paul Leary’s Trance Syndicate label.

    Read here some notes from the original press release:
    Trance Syndicate is pleased to present the first studio recording in almost a decade by one of the most gifted, most influential, most inspired singer/songwriters from the Republic of Texas since Buddy Holly.

    Roky Erickson is back! performing new songs and a few classics in one of the best studios in Texas, backed by some of Texas’ finest musicians. (See list of the musicians performing on the record)


    No hay productos

    0.00 € Transporte
    0.00 € Impuestos
    0.00 € Total

    Estos precios se entienden IVA incluído